jump to navigation

Stretching & Strength: Clamshells October 5, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

On the days I take runs off, which is Monday and Friday, I make a point to spend some time stretching and doing strength exercises. I particularly focus on exercises that target my hips, especially since I’ve had a history of tightness in that area of my body. While dead bugs target my core, clamshells target my hips. Thanks go out to my friend and physical therapist Katie.

To do clamshells, you lie on one side and prop your head up with your hand. The opposite arm rests along your body and your hips and knees are at a 90 degree angle. Once you’re in position, you open your legs by moving your top leg and keeping your bottom leg against the floor. Despite yet another weird name, it’s easy to see why this exercise helps with hip strengthening.

View this video on how to to clamshells from Ironstreit on Youtube:

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

