jump to navigation

LA Roadrunners: October 10, 2009 October 10, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in LA Roadrunners.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 8.2 miles
Time: 69:42
Pace: 8:30 mile

Yawn. These 6am Saturdays are getting easier and easier. “Just get up!” is my new motto. I don’t know if it was my chiropractor appointment on Thursday, but since then I’ve been sleeping way better and I woke up this morning more energized. Love it!

lar_091010_2
6:30 am. Where is everyone? Oh yeah: in bed.

Fellow runner Kekona couldn’t make it this week as he was out of town for a wedding, but today’s LA Roadrunner meeting seemed to be the one to miss. The parking lot was half-full and the groups were significantly smaller. My thought is that it’s a scheduled cut-back week, which means that most groups ran between 3-4 miles, and that most people decided to sleep in and run that on their own. That’s what I would’ve done. However, for my Group 3 Gone Rogue, we had 8 miles at our race pace on the schedule. Nice.

lar_091010_3
Our route, one way. We loop around and add some distance on the tail.

Today’s run felt great, though. Much better than last week’s LA Roadrunner run of 8 miles. No left hip problems, no right thigh cramping. Just went out and ran. I did get a small pinch in my left ankle, but I was able to change my gait to stop the pain and then it went away completely. So all in all, it was a great run.

I think the improvement from last week is the result of a few things:

1. I knew the route from last week and was more mentally prepared.
2. I made sure to do all my strength and stretching exercises for the week, especially concentrating on my hip and thigh. Knowing where the problem may come from definitely helps me focus on healing and prevention.
3. I did all my mid-week runs, including hills, which helped with building strength in my legs, especially my thighs.
4. Had a better ratio of protein to carbs in my diet, which helped repair and build my muscles.
5. Added some almonds to my cooked apple and honey before the run. I think they help me be more efficient in my energy usage.

lar_091010_1

After the run, there wasn’t much in terms of a lecture or presentation. Various charities were there, though, meeting with runners who are interested in being sponsored. I’m considering it, but haven’t made a final decision, and didn’t have the time today to stick around and talk to everyone. There will be more charities at next week’s gathering so I’ll be more active in researching a potential charity at that time.

Whew. Another week down, another…23 to go!


Find my run log here.

Comments»

1. yas - October 11, 2009

I find that when I know a path it makes it go by faster too. That’s interesting. It makes you wonder how much of the running is psychological vs. physical…

Two questions:
1) I didn’t know that about almonds. In what way are they more efficient?
2) I’m seriously considering adding a weight-lifting day to my plan. What types of strength training do you do?

RJL - October 11, 2009

Yeah, I think a lot about running is mental. I also run better when I’m with my running group.

Regarding the almonds, according to a nutritionist who spoke to my running group, adding a little bit of fat helps your body utilize energy better. Dietary fat is the best source of fuel, but it must be healthy fat! Not bacon or mayo, but almonds, olive oil, or avocado and only a little bit. I think the combination of a carb, sugar, and a little fat helps with longer runs. In fact, I’ll probably do a post on dietary fat soon!

With the strength training, I do hip dips, dead bugs, plank, push-ups, crunches, squats, and clamshells. That’s stuff I do at home. I haven’t added any weight exercises yet, because I’m worried about tiring my muscles and also getting too bulky!

Let me know if you add a weight regimen—I’d be interested to know what you do!

yas - October 12, 2009

Oooh yes, please do a post on dietary fat!

The more I think about a weight regimen the more I feel a need for it, so I’ll get on planning that today. It’s helpful too that my bf used to be a personal trainer 🙂 Once I know what I’m doing, I’ll make a post with the details.

2. Hills hills hills hills « Pretty Little Steps - October 14, 2009

[…] And a handful of almonds a la Richard. […]


Leave a Reply

