jump to navigation

Training: October 13, 2009 October 13, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 6 miles
Time: 50:42
Pace: 8:27 mile

Autumn has finally come to Los Angeles. It was about 65 degrees today, cloudy and overcast with the threat of rain. While it’s certainly nice to have a change of pace in the weather, it really limits my running choices. There’s no way I’m running outside in this weather, even if I take Karen’s advice of getting an Asics storm jacket. I just don’t like running in the cold. I find it difficult to breathe, inhaling very cold air. It makes me feel like I’m getting sick, too. So, instead, I utilized my gym membership and headed for the treadmill.

I haven’t stepped foot on a treadmill in a long time and having trained outdoors for the past five weeks, I forgot how different it is. It takes a bit more concentration as there are more things to worry about when I try to regulate my pace. I can’t just run and speed up or slow down; I have to manually input my speed or change my incline.

Additionally, running inside gets really, really hot. Even though I was in my awesome Under Armour shirt that has previously been extremely effective in wicking moisture, apparently it only works outdoors. I was soaking wet by the end of my run, something I’d never seen—or felt—before. It was pretty gross, actually. I think the moisture wicking works in the cooler outdoor air; inside, it doesn’t evaporate at all.

training_091013_1
Soaking wet. Yikes!

When I got home, I made sure to quickly eat my share of carbs and protein for a quick recovery: a spelt tortilla and some Trader Joe’s chicken sausage. Then, I made two turkey sandwiches.

training_091013_2

I’m going to try and make a better effort of taking photos of my food, if nothing else because it’s fun and makes my blog look DELICIOUS.


Find my run log here.

Comments»

1. knoh - October 13, 2009

there’s something really cool about running in the rain. but I know what you mean about the cold. Hopefully you can try of on a warmer rainy day.

RJL - October 14, 2009

Yeah, I could see that. Sort of like when you were a kid and went out in galoshes and a yellow raincoat. I’d like to try it one day, but not on a rain day like today!

2. yas - October 14, 2009

Omg, TJ’s has chicken sausages?! Must.Try.ASAP.

I try to limit my treadmill runs, because (this might sound weird) I always visualize breathing in all the CO2 that everyone else breathes out. And when you put a bunch of people sweating together in a room, it increases the moisture in the air, so it’s like running in humidity. No wonder you were dripping at the end!

Good job on the run. That is an awesome time!

RJL - October 14, 2009

Yeah, Trader Joe’s breakfast chicken sausages are awesome.

Ugh. Running on a treadmill is no fun! But when it’s raining, I guess it’s better than nothing. And yeah, definitely way more moisture, no natural cooling, and it smells way worse than outdoors!


Leave a Reply

