jump to navigation

KPCC, AirTalk & Running October 14, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Thoughts & Musings.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today, one of my favorite radio programs, AirTalk on KPCC, had Christopher McDougall on to discuss the hot trend of barefoot running. He and Larry Mantel discussed what it means to run barefoot, as well as McDougall’s book titled “Born To Run.” From Amazon:

Full of incredible characters, amazing athletic achievements, cutting-edge science, and, most of all, pure inspiration, Born to Run is an epic adventure that began with one simple question: Why does my foot hurt? In search of an answer, Christopher McDougall sets off to find a tribe of the world’s greatest distance runners and learn their secrets, and in the process shows us that everything we thought we knew about running is wrong.

Sounds pretty interesting to me! I’m adding it to my book list.

This whole barefoot running has been an interest for me. I’m curious to see what it’d feel like, and I definitely see the benefits of doing it. I feel much more comfortable when I don’t have shoes on, so why wear shoes when I’m running? I’m debating whether or not I should spend the money and get the Vibram FiveFinger, which is surprisingly comfortable, despite being quite unattractive.

To listen to the segment yourself, visit AirTalk’s blog page here or download the podcast here.

To purchase the McDougall’s book, get it from Amazon here

borntorun

And, if that’s not enough, watch a video with Christopher McDougall from Youtube:

Comments»

1. yas - October 14, 2009

This is really interesting! I’d heard something about how some of the world’s fastest marathon runners train barefoot.

Do the Vibram FiveFinger shoes feel like toe socks?

2. RJL - October 14, 2009

Yeah, the FiveFingers feel pretty thin. Basically a sock with a rubber sole, which is pretty cool. I recommend you try them, if nothing else just to see what they’re like!


Leave a Reply

