jump to navigation

LA Roadrunners — The Extra Mile Karma October 18, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in LA Roadrunners.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 9.21 miles
Time: 78:17
Pace: 8:30 mile

The day started, as always, at 6 am. I gathered all my “Runner Essentials” and threw them into my gym bag.

lar_091017_3

I headed outside to wait for fellow runner Kekona, who was walking to my place from his new house. Not the best photo, but that’s him under the street lamp.

lar_091017_2

We headed off to Venice and split up to meet with our pace groups. When I got into my group, the first thing our pace leader asked everyone was, “We’ve been approved by the head trainers to do 9 miles instead of 8 miles. Who wants to?” Of course, everyone groaned a little bit and looked around, waiting to see if anyone was going to object. Of course, no one wanted to be the one dissenter, so there was a silent agreement to do the 9 miles. Our pace group was called, timers were started, and there was no turning back. I think this was karma for yesterday’s extra mile.

lar_091017_5
Luckily, of all the days to do an extra mile, it was gorgeous.

I felt pretty good during the run and didn’t have any problems. Even my endurance was okay. Like my fellow runner mentioned, physically we can do 9 miles, it’s the mental part that’s difficult. I noticed there was far less chatting during the run and I think that most of us were going to conserve our energy and focus on just finishing.

I’ll actually be missing next week’s Roadrunner meeting because I’ll be running the Nike Human Race with some friends. As much as I enjoy Roadrunners, I think this break comes at the right time: 26 consecutive Saturday runs at 7am in the morning is difficult!


Find my run log here.

Comments»

1. yas - October 19, 2009

That’s a rocking pace for 9 miles!

I agree on the 7am runs. And it’s getting increasingly difficult to get out of bed when it’s 1) dark, and 2) COLD.

2. RJL - October 19, 2009

Yeah, dark and cold are a bad combination!


Leave a Reply

