jump to navigation

Training — Achilles! October 20, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 3.9 miles
Time: 33:21
Pace: 8:33 mile

Achilles! *raises fist in the air and shakes it* Damn you, Achilles!

wrathachilles
Uh, whoa. Clothes, dude?
(“The Wrath of Achilles” by Leon Benouville, 1847.)

The story of today is my Achilles tendon. I strained it. I figure it’s about time an injury popped up during my marathon training. Better now than later, I guess.

I headed out to tackle 6 miles, but ended up cutting my run short. It’s not that my Achilles was so painful I couldn’t continue; it’s more that I want to prevent a greater injury and decided it wasn’t worth the risk.

brentwood_3.9miles

Even currently it’s not hurting that much. I continue to walk on it and it generally feels okay. At this point, I’m in damage control mode more than anything.

According to this article by the Sports Injury Clinic, Achilles tendonitis (which is what I self-diagnosed myself as having, by the way) can be commonly caused by adding hill work and/or speed work to a training regimen. And guess what I did last Thursday? Both hill and speed work. Yikes. At least the culprit has been outed.

So now I’m focusing on recovery. I did some major calf and tendon stretching today, as advised by this Runner’s World article.

calf4

Additionally, I’ve been icing, massaging*, resting, and raising. Hopefully, I’ll be in decent shape to run the Nike Human Race this Friday. I’ve been looking forward to it and don’t want to miss it!

nikehumanrace


*I ran out of Biotone, so I picked up some arnica from Boiron. Just as good, I think.

Find my run log here.

Comments»

1. knoh - October 21, 2009

I find it very difficult to avoid mild strains and discomfort with hill work or speed work. Yet both are so important. I feel I need to attend some sort of clinic that can instruct me on how to do it properly … you know, to learn how fast and far to go … so of you ever attend a session at the track with LA Roadrunners, I would like to rag along.

RJL - October 21, 2009

Definitely. Once my Achilles improves, we’ll head out to the track.

2. knoh - October 21, 2009

on my morning run, I thought more about the hill/ speed thing, and I remembered that I has no problems with intervals before I started the Runners’ World 10k training. I think being “in training” puts me in a mindset that makes it harder to take it easy. So I’m really looking forward to doing the Nike run then being done with “training” for a while. I know it’s entirely self-imposed but still hard to hold back.

RJL - October 21, 2009

Yeah, being “in training” spins your whole mentality. It’s good though. To be able to create a self-imposed discipline is something most people aren’t able to do.

3. yas - October 21, 2009

So sorry to hear about this. Keep doing what you’re doing, and it should get better. Don’t worry too much about the miles right now.

Hope it’s better by Friday!

4. Chelsee Lowe - October 24, 2009

What a ridiculous art clip. : )


Leave a Reply

