jump to navigation

Training — To The Ocean October 28, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 7.05 miles
Time: 57:54
Pace: 8:16 mile

Today was gorgeous. Most of the wind had died down from yesterday, though the air was still pretty arid (and my eyes and nose got the worst of it). But the sun was out, it was fairly warm, and my body felt up to the challenge of a new route.

091028_2

I was getting bored with my normal neighborhood run so I decided to mix it up and head west for a change. On a day like this, why not go to the beach? So I scoped out a trail I was semi-familiar with, made sure the distance satisfied my training schedule, and headed out.

091028_1

Like I said, the wind was fairly mild (though even as I write this, it seems to be picking up again), but there was evidence from last night’s gale storm everywhere. Check out what the winds did to this giant tree:

091028_3
Impressive damage.

The run itself was great. My body felt good, despite some post-run soreness, and my time surprised even me. I feel like I may have missed a portion of the distance, but it’s pretty difficult to get lost on this route. One possible factor is that I was able to take a few extended breaks on this run because of traffic. Up and down the route there were several intersections and I found myself waiting at a light for 10, sometimes 20 seconds (at which I would stop my watch). This allowed me to recover and stay fresh for the duration of the run.

091028_5
I should slow down a bit…

It’s a unique feeling to be on a run that ends at the Pacific Ocean. To see something that massive just get bigger as you approach is very empowering, especially knowing you did it by foot. Though our Saturday training runs go along the ocean, it’s a very different feeling to arrive upon it. Destinations like this make it easy to be a runner.

091028_9

091028_7

091028_6

san vicente_7 miles


P.S. The wind reminds me of one of my favorite Calvin & Hobbes comic strips:

The trees are really sneezing today

Comments»

1. Karen N. - October 28, 2009

Imagine how you’ll feel when you see the ocean after 26.2 miles!

RJL - October 29, 2009

Karen: it’ll be an awesome feeling, I’m sure!

2. Chelsee Lowe - October 28, 2009

Hahahah!!! I love Calvin. He’s so funny.

And 49mph!? Slow down baby!! you’ll hurt yourself! 🙂

RJL - October 29, 2009

Thanks, babe!

3. Nancy - October 28, 2009

HI! I haven’t congratulated you on your Friday/Sat. run. I’m glad you enjoyed the night with your wife and friends.

I saw some RRunners wearing the orange Nike T-shirts on Saturday, and I wondering how you did.

On a different note, it is so difficult running in the wind, isn’t it? I had to work extra hard to fight the wind. My body was in pain after about 10 minutes; not to mention the throat and eye problems.

Hey! The pace leaders reminded us to get in the Halloween mood, and wear something fun this Sat. I have a ninja costume, but I think I will suffocate in it. So, I’m still brainstorming. I’ll probably just go as myself.

See you in a few days.

RJL - October 29, 2009

Thanks! Yeah, the Nike+ run was fun.

And yes: wind sucks! It’s terrible. Bad for the eyes and the lungs.

Don’t know if I’ll be wearing a costume this Saturday—running in regular clothes is challenging enough! See you soon!

4. Yasmin - October 29, 2009

I envy your scenery.

RJL - October 29, 2009

Haha, thanks! Yes, it’s quite beautiful in Southern California. It’s hard to argue about our weather.

5. Training — San Francisco! « Full Steam Marathon - November 16, 2009

[…] I felt like a spirit seeing the city for the first time. Much like how I felt when I did my first run to the Pacific Ocean, there was a unique sense of power that I’ve never had before. I mean, I […]


Leave a Reply

