jump to navigation

LA Roadrunners — 11 Miles: Get Outta My Kitchen! November 1, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in LA Roadrunners.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 11.08 miles
Time: 93:36
Pace: 8:26 mile

Yeah, that’s right: 90+ minutes of straight running. That’s hardcore and I’m awesome.

Yesterday’s LA Roadrunner run was great—not only did I hit double-digits for the first time ever, but the weather was fantastic. In addition, our pace group altered our route a bit and we ran above the gorgeous Santa Monica mountains. I really need to start bringing my camera on my Roadrunner runs.

lar091031_06
This doesn’t do the run route justice.

The whole week I was mentally preparing for 11 miles. This would be my longest run ever and the idea of double-digits is definitely a big psychological barrier.

During the run, I felt great the whole way. I seem always start with some slight tightness in my legs, but once I get deep into the run, I’m able to continue running without any complaints. I do feel like I need to build strength in my legs; around mile 9, my thighs were getting tired, but my energy was fine.

Some LA Roadrunners came in costume to get into the Halloween spirit. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any photos, but I can’t imagine running any sort of distance in a scratchy witch outfit—like some lady did!

lar091031_07

lar091031_08

lar091031_09

lar091031_02

Comments»

1. Nancy - November 1, 2009

Hurray on your 11 mile run!!!

It’s impressive how you and your group can run non-stop for those distances. Maybe someday, when I get stronger, I’ll be able to be non-stop too. In the meantime, I’m taking my two minute walks.

Yeah, yeah!!! Bring your camera to take pictures. I use my cell phone, but the pictures come out awful. I don’t carry my camera because it’s too bulky.

This Sat. someone gave me the funny look for taking pictures, but I reminded myself that I am documenting my marathon experience. Then, I didn’t mind the criticism.

See you in a week!

2. Yasmin - November 2, 2009

That’s awesome. You know you’re a serious runner when you surpass the double digits.

I have a hard time taking pictures on longer runs, because the process of taking the camera out seems to interfere with my zoning out.

RJL - November 2, 2009

I was thinking the same thing, having to deal with my camera when I’d rather just be zoning out!

3. The Vegan Anti-Hero - November 2, 2009

I personally enjoy partaking in my long-runs dressed in scratchy witch costumes. Give it a go next time and I guarentee you’ll cut a solid minute off your normal pace. Ok so I lie but I found your blog and wanted to say keep up the good work running and taking quality pictures mid-run. Very impressive.

RJL - November 2, 2009

Thanks for finding my blog! Glad you like the photography, too.

4. Chelsee Lowe - November 3, 2009

Yay Richard! 11 miles is AMAZING!

Super proud of you hubby. 🙂


Leave a Reply

