jump to navigation

RunTunes: Phoenix November 20, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in RunTunes.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Back when I started chronicling my marathon training, I always had the idea of posting music I listen to during the week and on my runs, either new music or ones I just like. Now, eleven weeks later, I finally get around to it.

My first selection for RunTunes is the new(ish) album “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix” by Phoenix. It’s fantastic, especially for running. For one, their instrumentation feels completely organic and natural; you can’t help but want to move to their upbeat melodies. Second, their lyrics make no sense to me, which in my book makes for great music to zone out to on a long run. Even after reading their lyrics, I still can’t make them out.

From the Onion’s A.V. Club’s review:

Everything on Phoenix’s fourth album is highly mannered, to be sure. But none of it is ever forced or fussy—or, worse, less than geekily thrilled to be so carefully arranged.

I love it and I recommend checking it out.

Find “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix” by Phoenix on Amazon here.

Comments»

1. Yasmin - November 20, 2009

Oh, I LOVE this idea! I’ve always wondered what others listen to on their runs.

And I hear ya on the instrumental music– after the 40-minute mark, I always choose long instrumental/trancey/trippy music. Will have to give Phoenix a try!


Leave a Reply

