jump to navigation

LA Roadrunners — Lucky 13 November 22, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in LA Roadrunners.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Distance: 13.18 miles
Time: 110:00
Pace: 8:21 mile

We’re in our eleventh week of LA Roadrunners. How time flies. Seems like just yesterday we took on our first run as a group. That run was 3.51 miles. I love progress.

As for yesterday’s run, it blows my mind to think I ran for 110 minutes straight. I never thought I could do any one thing for 110 minutes straight, really. I can’t even surf the web continuously for that long.

No photos today, unfortunately. My fellow Roadrunner Kekona has been feeling ill lately and skipped the meet, which meant I took my sweet time getting ready in the morning. As such, I got caught in line for parking and had to sprint from the school yard to the boardwalk.

All in all, the run was fantastic. I felt great and had no trouble at all in terms of endurance and there was not the occasional tightness in my legs. In fact, thinking back to last week, both these runs have been really good. I had more than enough energy and I think it may have something to do with previous night’s dinner. Last weekend I stuffed myself with garlic noodles and fried crab from PPQ Dungeness Island; this week was Umami Burger. Both meals were high carb, high protein meals. Looks like I can put down the broccoli and brown rice and eat greasy crab and delicious burgers from now on!


PPQ Dungeness Crab via Flickr from Liyu01.


Umami Burger via Flickr from Yogma.

It wasn’t until after the run that I really started to feel the effects. Once my muscles had a chance to cool off, my legs started to really hurt. I was SORE. I got home, ate three breakfast burritos, took a hot shower, then proceeded to stretch and stretch and stretch. Doing those things really helped—especially the three breakfast burritos—and today, I’m already feeling much better.

I’m going to try and do a short recovery run today, just to keep my legs moving. I’ll definitely take it slow, but I don’t want to have any sort of drop off from yesterday’s long run success. A fellow Roadrunner told me that the idea behind marathon training is to get your body used to running long distances while you’re tired and a bit sore. Makes sense to me.

Comments»

1. Michael Lowe - November 22, 2009

Daaaaaang! That’s awesome. 13 miles. I can barely drive that far. Congrats.

2. The Vegan Anti-Hero - November 23, 2009

I think I’m more impressed with you throwing back three breakfast burritos than I am with the 13 miles. But great work on the run. Even more impressive work digesting above mentioned burritos.

RJL - November 23, 2009

My powers of digestion are unrivaled.


Leave a Reply

