jump to navigation

Surviving The Holidays November 24, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Thoughts & Musings.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Every year it seems like I’m exercising 10 months out of the year so I can pig out in November and December. That’s not a conscious choice—it’s just sort of how it happens. This year will likely be no different, despite the fact that I’m 11 weeks deep into my marathon training. In fact, with the insane hunger that my training has been causing, I might actually be able to eat more this year. And that’s not a bad thing.

The LA Marathon blog has a post on how to survive the holidays and the barrage of delicious food. Most of their advice centers around not eating too much, but c’mon: it’s the holidays! I can’t resist. On normal years, I usually go back for seconds and thirds and fourths. This year, now that I’m burning calories like crazy, I may hit fifths and sixths. I mean, I ate three breakfast burritos last Saturday after my 13 mile run.

One good piece of advice that I’m definitely going to stick to is this nugget:

Consistency is key to your exercise program. Don’t let the holidays derail you by missing too many days in a row of your routine. Don’t try to make up what you’ve missed by overtraining – just get back on your plan.

I do think it’s important to remain disciplined with my training regimen, even if I cramp up from all the turkey and dessert that’ll be sitting in my stomach. And hey, it’ll be worth it.

Find the rest of the tips here.

Comments»

1. Little Ms. GG - November 27, 2009

These days I crave a lot of meat. I resist temptation and eat something healthier instead. I’m also eating a lot too, yet I keep losing weight.

By the way, were you there when Matt from New Performance gave us guidelines as to how much food we should be eating? I’m suppose to eat six times a day. Wow!


Leave a Reply

