jump to navigation

A Day of Rest December 3, 2009

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I took a day of rest today as my hip/butt area was giving me major problems. At dinner last night, I felt the whole area just tighten up in a hard knot—very unpleasant. I did some stretching and massage therapy and it was better this morning, but any sort of rotation really pinched the area.

While it hurts in my glute, I actually feel like it’s coming from my hamstring, which makes sense since after the 14 mile run last weekend, my hamstring was really tight. I did some research and I think it’s piriformis syndrome.

According to Wikipedia:

Piriformis syndrome is a neuromuscular disorder that occurs when the sciatic nerve is compressed or otherwise irritated by the piriformis muscle causing pain, tingling and numbness in the buttocks and along the path of the sciatic nerve descending down the lower thigh and into the leg.

“Neuromuscular”? “Sciatic”? Huh? It hurts like hell is what it is!

While normal everyday movement doesn’t hurt, any rotation of the leg does, as does standing on the leg and bending forward from the hip. So the hamstring is connected to the piriformis, the piriformis is connected to the… Exactly.

So it’s another day of rest for me.

I looked up some stretches by Googling “pinch butt stretch” and found some pretty interesting results. Luckily, I found this video on YouTube from Texafornia1. I did the first two of these exercises and it helped tremendously.

Thanks, Texafornia1.

In any case, more stretching, more massage, and more rest. That’s about all I can do. I don’t want to re-injure myself more seriously. After all, it’s a marathon, not a sprint. For realz.

Comments»

1. Yasmin - December 4, 2009

That first exercise in the video looks so simple! Guess it just comes down to understanding your anatomy to know what works.

I was experiencing a little tightness in my glutes too last week– I got a softball and sat on it, positioning it so it was massaging the tight spot. Really helped!

Hope your pain goes away!

2. Yasmin - December 15, 2009

Hmmm… how are things going in this department?

I actually think I *may* have the beginning stages of something similar in my piriformis and/or gluteus medius. I’m afraid it will get to a worse stage as the long runs get longer.


Leave a Reply

