jump to navigation

Updates + Sedona, AZ + Rest March 4, 2010

Posted by Richard Lowe in Training.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Wow it’s been a really, really long time since I last posted. Life has gotten really hectic these past couple of weeks (in a good way) and I just haven’t had time to write*. Additionally, I’ve had a lingering hamstring injury that has kept me from running frequently and I’ve concentrated on healing before the Big Day instead of pushing myself and suffering an injury that may keep me out of the race.

However, I do want to share my last run, which was in Sedona, AZ of all places. My wife and I were invited by my friend who had his short film Dockweiler accepted to the Sedona Film Festival. He had a free room and two extra guest passes, so we figured why not?

Distance: 4.04 miles
Time: 38:34
Pace: 9:33 mile

It was a fairly tough run and though I’d been taking it easy, I didn’t think a 4 miler should be that hard. However, it wasn’t until later that I found out Sedona lies at 4500 feet. Much different than the sea level elevation of Santa Monica that I’ve been training in.

The weekend was a blast. I got to run in a new location, we were able to see some great films, and we spent some quality time with good friends. We’d been to Sedona once before, but clouds like these are special. Sedona really is one of the prettiest places I’ve seen in the US and if you ever get a chance, I suggest you go.


Sedona really is gorgeous. These photos don’t do it justice.

So the marathon is only 17 days away! Crazy, right? My 27 weeks of training are nearing the end. I’m taking the time to rest, stretch, and get ready mentally for the race. As if posts haven’t been sporadic enough, they may become even rarer due to a lack of interesting things to write about and my life getting increasingly busier.

To my loyal readers (if you’re out there), I apologize! Many thanks to those who have continued to visit my site during these sparse weeks. And, if you don’t hear from me, I’d love to hear from you. Just send me an email at richardonthego(at)gmail.com.

Comments»

1. cg9m - March 21, 2010

i’m one of your random twitter followers- directed to your blog by sfmarathon. yours is among the most positive ones i was reading! great job on your race! hope you do consider sf this summer- even with the hills- i think with all your training, you’d have a pr reflective of your ability!

RJL - March 21, 2010

Thank you! We ran today, in fact. The course was wonderful, but my legs ended up cramping up near mile 12. However, I still finished, albeit at a much slower pace and in a lot of pain! But I finished! Thanks for reading. Hopefully I can do SF and hopefully I can continue the blog!

2. Yasmin - March 29, 2010

How did the marathon go? I’m dying to hear!


Leave a Reply

